There's two new ways to get tickets in Illinois in 2010, one way tickets were made less likely and another that stiffens penalties. So you'll be fully prepared when you get in the car for the first time today, here's some changes in Illinois' driving laws, effective January 1, 2010:
- No texting while driving. Car must be parked or in neutral for driver to text legally. However, phone GPS systems may be used.
- No use of cell phones in construction zones or school zones -- unless an earpiece is used.
- Truckers may now drive 65 mph, rather than 55 mph.
- And if a person gets injured in an auto accident, an involved, uninsured driver can be charged with a misdemeanor and spend up to a year in jail or a fine of $2500.